Primary level education is one of the most critical foundations for children to do well in their schooling, personal, and professional lives. 


Today, the world has witnessed the increasing need to adopt the Cambridge primary curriculum into their schooling techniques and preferences. If you are unsure about the Cambridge Primary syllabus and whether or not it is suitable for your child, this is your only stop to gain all the necessary information. 


What is the Cambridge Curriculum? 

Introduced by Cambridge Assessment International Education, the Cambridge Primary Curriculum encourages children from ages five to nineteen to focus on and study subjects of their interest. 


In doing so, the curriculum provides all the necessary resources for students to strengthen their knowledge of the concerned subject and encourages them to be curious and productive with whatever resources they have. 


The curriculum has gained strong momentum in the past few years and has been religiously followed by 10,000 schools across 160 countries. The curriculum reinforces students' capabilities to gain qualifications and strengthens one's stance on vocational activities.


What subjects are included in the Cambridge Primary Curriculum? 

The Cambridge Primary Curriculum aims to strengthen children's grasp of 10 subjects, including English, Science, Mathematics, Art & Design, Digital Literacy, Music, Physical Education, ICT Starters, and Global Cambridge Perspectives. 


Assessment is based on how well these subjects are learned at the lower secondary level. 


Following this, the main aim of the higher secondary level is to provide students with the qualities and skills to qualify for the IGCSE examination. 


This is relevant for children between the ages of 14 and 16 years. The curriculum offers 30 languages and 70 subjects to choose from at this level. 


What is the aim of the Cambridge Primary Curriculum? 

The school in malaysia Curriculum is driven by the ambition to allow for the smooth functioning of students' educational arenas from age five to nineteen. 


The Cambridge Primary Curriculum assists students from primary to pre-university levels in gaining complete educational success. 


They aim to make students competent for professional life and equip them with the necessary skills that complement their aptitude and interests in a subject. Further, it is one of the most suited curricula for those who plan on completing their education in another country. 


This is because the Cambridge curriculum offers a widely flexible routine in embracing students to opt for several courses internationally. This is also evident in its transnational nature. 


Structure and format of the Cambridge Primary Curriculum 

The formal structure of the Cambridge Curriculum is labeled as Cambridge Pathway, and rightfully so. It is a pathway of different stages lined one after the other to assist students in attaining professional confidence and stance.


 The stages are as follows: 

  • Cambridge Primary (5 to 11 years old)
  • Cambridge Lower Secondary (11 to 14 years old)
  • Cambridge Upper Secondary (14 to 16 years old)  
  • Cambridge Advanced (16 to 19 years old)


The upper-level secondary students are subjected to O-level examinations, which are necessary to gain the freedom to select subjects for further studies according to one's preferences. 


The curriculum adopts a firm and empirical checkpoint system to assess the students, including practical assignments, oral work, and coursework. 


Did you always want to enroll your child in a school in Malaysia that rigidly followed the Cambridge Primary Curriculum but also ensured enough flexibility to accommodate the needs of your child? 


Indian International Schools in Kualalumpur ensure a comprehensive and flexible learning environment for your child. They believe in building solid roots from a very young age by aligning their educational preferences with Cambridge.